perfection is possible

blatherings about gymnastics

Inaugural Thinger

Posted by Rawles on December 5, 2008

So, I decided–after much internal debate–to go ahead and create a dedicated blog for gymnastics talk. The pros including, but not limited to, the fact that my television show, movie, animation etc. nerdery and fangirling can live uninterrupted yet again. I also feel more comfortable posting about gym as much as I want in a blog specifically for that, rather than my personal journal where the majority of people reading it either don’t know anything about it or don’t care.

At any rate, I shall dive right into The Latest.

Rumors slash reports abound currently that the minor, preventative knee thing that kept Rebecca Bross out of PAGU was actually major knee surgery to remove a bone chip. As it stands, she may be out for up to the entire season with this and some other growth-related issues.

Even if it’s not as bad as that, it’s highly doubtful that she’ll be showing up for the American Cup which I find intensely saddening. I was really, really looking forward to seeing Bross make her senior debut in spectacular fashion. Also with her absence, since she would likely have been guaranteed a spot, it’ll be interesting to see who ends up with that rather plum assignment.

Reports from the most recent camp were that Bridget Sloan was angling hard for it which is why she passed up other assignments AND Jana Bieger was also chugging right along with her sights set on it. I’m not sure how many girls Marta will decide to send, but I’d love to see Bridget come away the star of the show. I’d also like to see nice things from Sam Shapiro or maybe Mattie Larson. I also confess to a certain curiosity about where Sam Peszek is currently after her move over to Bridget’s gym (and Bridget’s coach Marvin Sharp, as well, I assume). But with Nastia, Shawn, Chellsie, and Alicia all out for the moment or forever, Bridget is essentially the biggest name they have on hand.

I find myself actually really excited about SCAM if for no other reason than the opportunity to see the spotlight shined on different people. It’s been a very long time in US gymnastics since a competition has been anything but the Nastia and/or Shawn Show. I mean, they’re obviously great and, frankly, deserve the spotlight being the two best gymnasts in the world and all, but there are other very nice gymnasts who get lost in the glare coming off of them if you know what I mean.

At any rate, before this news came down my original plan for a post (that will wait until next post or so now) was to post a small collection of videos that I find myself watching again and again on YouTube that I like to call Performances Worth Remembering and comment on why exactly I feel that they’re worth remembering. The following Bross floor exercise was among them and I figured I’d include it here.

Her opening pass is so open and effortless. <3 The rest aren’t shoddy either. She could probably get some choreography that suited her a tiny bit better OR she could grow into that style. But it’s still quite good and deserved the 1st place finish it got. Also that’s a super cute leo that I have been wondering for a year now why the National Team doesn’t make more use of.

All said, I wish her a speedy recovery so that she can show up and be excellent at us ASAP.

And as an addendum, everyone’s pretty much already linked to my cut of Nastia’s brief cameo on Gossip Girl this week, but here it is one more time for anyone who might not have been paying attention.

Everyone I know who has ever watched this show assures me that Chuck Bass is gross and horrible, but this lolaritizes me nonetheless. (Her eyebrows may have waggled. I am uncertain!) I am also glad that the costuming folks seemed to immediately figure out how nice Nastia looks in white.

6 Responses to “Inaugural Thinger”

  1. Sarmoti said

    I did not recognize Nastia! Fail! And I find Chuck Bass to be wonderful! In kind of a gross way, haha.

  2. Thanks for putting up the new perfection blog.

    I am subscribed.

  3. Em said

    Yay! Rawles has her own gym blog. I find that your wonderfully tongue-in-cheek entries make !chuckle! quite often.

    Bross makes me sad. I totally created a scenario for her in my overly-imaginative head where she would have a stellar 09 Worlds, and her and Nast would have this fantastic / friendly rivalry which would then in turn, motivate Nast to appear at 2012 O’ Games.

    You should SO do an entry on Performances Worth Remembering .

    Good luck on blogging!

  4. vanessa said

    I’m so glad you have your own gym blog! yay!
    also very very sad about bross:( i am going to the american cup and i was looking forward to seeing her!
    although i would be happy with some good routines by shapiro, larson, and especially sloan.

  5. Rawles said

    Thanks for all the encouragement, guys!

  6. TCOisbanned? said

    I’m glad you have a blog too.

Leave a Reply

 
